CATEGORY: Hour 5: 1-2pm

BOOK CLUB 8th-12th (Spring)

Course Access: Lifetime
Course Overview

Come and enjoy some reading adventures with Jen & Sundee!!!   This is great enrichment class for those who love to read as well as those who don’t but want to chat about reading topics from books.  We will be discussing the “circumstance”, what is going on during the time of these books? Can you relate to any one character over another? What is the setting?   Did you enjoy the book?   Would you change anything?  We may even bring some fun foods to try if it relates to the books we are discussing that week.  It’s a chill, fun, class to dive into books that maybe you otherwise never would have chosen!   Come join Jen & Sundee!

We will choose 3 or 4 (depending on the length) out of this list: 

 

All The Light We Cannot See

Set during World War II, this is Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize–winning tale of two teenagers—a blind French girl on the run and a German boy forced to join the Nazi army—whose separate lives ultimately converge. Primary themes of interest to high school students: warfare, grief and loss, disability, power and conformity.

————————————————————————————————–

Educated: A Memoir

Tara Westover’s story of growing up alongside—and eventually growing beyond—her decidedly iconoclastic family of Mormon survivalists in rural Idaho is an autobiographical paean to the transformative power of education. Primary themes of interest to high school students: autonomy, family dynamics, learning and education, loneliness and isolation.

————————————————————————————————–

The Great Gatsby

F. Scott Fitzgerald’s lyrical, Jazz Age novel about the idealist James Gatsby—and the nature of the American Dream. Primary themes of interest to high schoolers: the Jazz Age, the American Dream, wealth and class, idealism.

————————————————————————————————–

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Zora Neale Hurston’s heavily vernacular novel depicting the life of Janie Crawford, an African American woman in the Jim Crow South at the turn of the 20th century. Primary themes of interest to high schoolers: gender roles, race and racial injustice, the effects of abuse, the representation of American dialects, the nature of love.

————————————————————————————————–

Night

Elie Wiesel’s spare memoir-novel based on his experiences in concentration camps during the Holocaust. Primary themes of interest to high schoolers: good and evil, the Holocaust, faith and faithlessness, the Jewish experience.

————————————————————————————————–

Unbroken

Louie Zamperini ‘s (Olympic athlete, Air Corps officer, P.O.W.) Olympic career was cut short by WWII. While serving in the US military, Louie’s plane goes down over the ocean where is stranded at sea for days on end. Once he’s rescued, it’s by the Japanese and he is sent to a POW camp. Read his harrowing true story. It’s a story of struggle, survival, redemption, and inspiration.

————————————————————————————————–

Great Expectations

This Charles Dickens classic tells the story of Pip, an orphan who gets a chance at a better life through an anonymous benefactor. The plot mostly centers around Pip’s regular visits to Miss Havisham, a wealthy recluse, and his love for her adopted daughter Estella, who is cold toward Pip until years later. Many consider the novel a great masterpiece.

————————————————————————————————–

The Giver

The Giver” is the dystopian tale of a boy chosen to hold one of the most difficult and important professions in his community—the keeper of all memories from the time before, including the pain and difficulties that have been erased from the seemingly utopian world around them. In 1994, Lois Lowry was awarded the Newbery Medal—a prestigious award for children’s literature in the United States—for the first installation of her book quartet. The book’s complicated themes of racism, religion, and politics lend themselves more to older readers, creating rich discussion in high school classrooms.

————————————————————————————————–

The Nightingale

With courage, grace, and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of World War II and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women’s war. The Nightingale tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love, and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France—a heartbreakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the durability of women. It is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime.

————————————————————————————————–

The Selection

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

————————————————————————————————–

Book Thief

When Death has a story to tell, you listen.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.